Want to learn how to delete a YouTube account? Maybe you have one too many profiles on the video-sharing site, or you just want to step back from social media in general. Follow the steps below to close your YouTube account.
Learn How to Delete a YouTube Account
Step 1: Log Into Your Account
Like every other online profile you want to close, you must log into your account before you can delete your own YouTube page. This is the first step you’ll need to take to delete a YouTube account. Just go to the YouTube page and input your login information. You will be taken to your homepage, where you’ll find your account settings.
Step 2: Go to Settings
To go to Settings, click on your profile picture at the upper right side of the page. It will reveal options for your YouTube account. You’ll find the Settings button at the lower bottom part of the drop-down.
Step 3: Manage Your Account
After you click on the button, you will be directed to your YouTube account settings. From there, go to Advanced. This can be found right next to your profile photo and below your username. You are then one step closer to deleting your YouTube account.
Step 4: Choose Delete Channel
On the Advanced page, look for the Delete Channel button. You’ll see it at the bottom of the page. This tells the servers that you want YouTube to delete a channel. You will be prompted to confirm your identity by inputting your password.
Step 5: Choose Whether to Hide or Permanently Delete Your Channel
After confirming your identity, you must choose whether to simply hide your channel or permanently delete it. If you want to hide your videos from the public, you can choose to hide your channel. If you want to completely delete your profile, choose the second option.
Remember, if you choose to delete your channel, you will be getting rid of your personal videos, playlists, subscriptions to other channels, comments, replies, messages, and subscribers. On the other hand, you will not be losing the +1s, thumbs up, and everything else on your Google+ profile.
Step 6: Delete Your Channel
If you choose to permanently delete your channel, tick the boxes to confirm that you understand what will be deleted and retained with the action. You will then get a prompt confirming your decision to delete your channel.
Step 7: Confirm the Deletion of Your YouTube Account
To confirm the deletion of your YouTube account, input your username in the space provided. Then click on “Delete My Content” to finalize deletion. Once deleted, your data can not be restored. Should you wish to return to YouTube, you will have to open an entirely new account.
Now that you’ve learned how to delete a YouTube account, you might want to open a new one to earn money off it. Learn how in the video below!
Whatever your reason for wanting to delete your Youtube account, the process to do so is extremely simple. Just follow the step-by-step guide above and you’ll be done in a matter of minutes. Keep in mind, though, that deleting your Youtube account will not affect the Google account linked to it. You’ll have to head on over to Gmail to close it.
What made you look up a guide on how to delete a Youtube account? Tell us in the comments section below!
Editor’s Note: This post was originally published on April 19, 2018 and has been updated for quality and relevancy.