What's Noo?

A blog for noobies by Patric Welch, techie and all around fun guy.


page 1 of 5

Older

I guess the tides have officially turned and chain mail spammers and scammers have given up on Microsoft as witnessed by this email I received today: These same types of people used to try and convince us that Bill Gates was giving away free trips to Disney World. But I guess that's not edgy and current enough any more so now it's Mark Zuckerberg's turn. Please listen to me. Mark Zuckerberg is not giving away free iPhones or iPads. And his email address is not //= 0; i=i-1){ if (l[i].substring(0, 1) == ' ') document.write("&#"+unescape(l[i].substring(1))+";"); else document.write(unescape(l[i])); } //]]> .… Continue reading...

0 comments for this blog post so far...

Look what showed up in my email inbox: If this was in your email inbox, what would you do? Give yourself 10 points if you answered delete it or report it as spam. Deduct 10 points if you answered click on the link to find out who would say such a thing about you on Facebook. By the way, I apologize if I offend anyone because I did not blur out the four-letter word in the email image above but I think it's important to see the original email as it was received so we can all learn to identify… Continue reading...

3 comments for this blog post so far...

I'm going to start featuring popular spam emails on my blog in an effort to educate noobies on how to identify spam. First up is one that is circulating right now with a subject similar to this: Your Tax Payment ID 38149474 is failed. The number (in this case, 38149474) is different in each email sent out so if you are lucky enough to receive more than one of these emails, that should be your first clue that the email is not legitimate. In other words, if your inbox looks like the image below, don't give it a second thought.… Continue reading...

1 comment for this blog post so far...

The evil people who create viruses will stop at nothing to trick you. Take this email that I received today: Dear client Your package has arrived. The tracking# is : 1Z45AR990283682749 and can be used at : http://www.ups.com/tracking/tracking.html The shipping invoice can be downloaded from : http://www.ups.com/tracking/invoices/download.aspx?invoice_id=3483273 Thank you, United Parcel Service *** This is an automatically generated email, please do not reply *** What to look for Let's look at the warning signals that tell you this email is up to no good: I wasn't expecting any package and there was no actual package delivered to my house. The… Continue reading...

11 comments for this blog post so far...

I don't know any other way to put this. Domain Registry of America is scamming people into transferring their domains to them. It works like this. You open your mailbox one day to discover an official looking envelope that looks like this: When you open the envelope you find an even more official letter that looks something like this: The contents of the letter make you believe that a domain you own (in my case something like NOOBIE.COM) is about to expire and that you should settle up with Domain Registry of America immediately or risk losing the domain. Only… Continue reading...

1 comment for this blog post so far...

page 1 of 5

Older